Return to TFB Main Page
Return to Current Edition
Texas Agriculture Archive

May 7, 2004

TBC feeds returning soldiers


Former TFB State Director Hope Huffman serves a soldier from the Fourth Infantry Divison while TFB State Director Dan Dierschke prepares another sandwich as the Texas Beef Council joined forces with the National Cattlemen's Beef Association and H-E-B at a recent welcome home festival for returning soldiers from Iraq. Some 7,500 sandwiches were served to the crowd per hour, with soldiers consuming over 7,500 pounds of donated barbecue beef.

Texas beef producers April 22 greeted soldiers returning to the United States after a year of combat in Iraq with their thanks and a barbecue beef meal at festivities conducted at Fort Hood near Killeen.

More than 30,000 U.S. soldiers and their families enjoyed the meal served by more than 60 volunteers including current members of the Texas Beef Council board of directors, Texas chuck wagon caterers and TBC staff. The soldiers were members of the Fourth Infantry Division's Task Force Ironhorse whose distinguished year of service in Iraq included the capture of Saddam Hussein in December.

"It was our privilege to serve some of the thousands of women and men who serve us in the Armed Forces," said Hungerford beef producer Richard Forgason, DVM, TBC chairman. "This was small thanks for all that they do to keep the world free, and the beef checkoff program was honored just to be included in the homecoming."

TBC and the National Cattlemen's Beef Association joined forces with H-E-B Grocery Co. to provide the beef meal.

H-E-B, a 300-store supermarket chain headquartered in Texas, donated 7,500 pounds of pre-cooked chopped beef.

Texas chuck wagon caterers Eddie Deen of Fort Worth, Tom Perini of Buffalo Gap and Cliff Teinert of Albany heated the product for serving.

The returning soldiers consumed an average of 7,500 beef sandwiches per hour.

Producers serving the beef sandwiches to the servicemen and women included Forgason, Pete Bonds of Saginaw, Dan Dierschke of Austin, Reta Dyess of Jacksonville, John and Ginger Dudley of Comanche, Hope and Harlan Huffman of McGregor, and Jim McAdams of Adkins.